Enjoy the recorded sessions from the 2021 Michigan Climate and Clean Energy Summit. This event was jointly hosted by Groundwork and the Michigan Climate Action Network for a powerful event bringing together those at the forefront of climate action from the Biden Administration and Whitmer Administrations, plus community leaders, activists, policymakers, advocates, and businesses from across Michigan to move us forward equitable and ambitious climate and clean energy solutions.

Monday, May 24

Michigan Leading on Climate

  • Lt. Governor Garlin Gilchrist, State of Michigan

  • Liesl Clark, Director, Department of the Environment, Great Lakes and Energy.

  • Katherine Peretick, Commissioner, Michigan Public Service Commission 



Tuesday, May 25

Federal Action on Climate

  • Kerry Duggan, CEO of SustainabiliD, former policy advisor to President Biden

  • Kelly Speakes-Backman, Acting Assistant Secretary, Department of Energy



Congressional Perspective on Climate

  • U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow

  • U.S. Senator Gary Peters



Wednesday, May 26

Climate & Environmental Justice 

  • Jacqueline Patterson, Senior Director, Environmental and Climate Justice Program, NAACP



Centering Communities and Workers as We Tackle Climate Change

  • Moderator: Justin Onwenu, Sierra Club

  • Stephan Edel, Coordinator, NY Renews Coalition

  • James Harrison, Director of Renewable Energies, Utility Workers Union of America, AFL-CIO

  • Theresa Landrum, Detroit Community Leader and Michigan Advisory Council on Environmental Justice

  • Michelle Martinez, Executive Director, Michigan Environmental Justice Coalition



Achieving Michigan’s Carbon Neutrality Goal

  • Moderator: Dr. Brandy Brown, State of Michigan Office of Climate & Energy

  • Lauren Cooper, Director, Forest Carbon and Climate Program, Michigan State University

  • Marnese Jackson, Co-Director of Fresh Energy – Midwest Building Decarbonization Coalition

  • Douglas Jester, Partner, 5Lakes Energy



Michigan Climate Awards Ceremony

  • Jamie Simmons, Michigan Climate Action Network

  • Kate Madigan, Michigan Climate Action Network



Closing Remarks

  • Naina Agrawal-Hardin, Sunrise Movement and U.S. Youth Climate Strike Coalition



Michigan Policymaker Roundtable

  • Moderator: Charlotte Jameson, Program Director for Legislative Affairs, Energy, and Drinking Water, Michigan Environmental Council

  • U.S. Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D), U.S. House of Representatives for Michigan

  • Rep. Joe Bellino (R), Michigan House of Representatives

  • Senator Mallory McMorrow (D), Michigan State Senator

  • Rep. Rachel Hood (D), Michigan House of Representatives

  • Rep. Michelle Hoitenga (R), Michigan House of Representatives

  • Rep. Yousef Rabhi (D), Michigan House of Representatives



Thursday, May 27

Cities and Communities Leading on Climate 

  • Moderator: Dr. Missy Stults, City of Ann Arbor

  • Sergio Cira-Reyes, Director of Community Engagement, Urban Core Collective

  • Bryan Lewis, Executive Director, EcoWorks

  • Dr. Sarah Mills, Senior Program Manager, Graham Sustainability Institute, University of Michigan

  • Julie Staveland, Manager, Sustainability Section, EGLE

  • Mayor John Murphy, City of Petoskey



Breakout Sessions—Round 1

Session A: Climate and Line 5

  • Moderator: Sean McBrearty, Oil & Water Don’t Mix

  • Esosa Aimufua, Associate Attorney, Environmental Law & Policy Center

  • Whitney Gravelle, President, Bay Mills Indian Community

  • Beth Wallace, National Wildlife Federation and Great Lakes Business Network



Breakout Sessions—Round 1

Session B: Building a Movement: Featuring Young Leaders

  • Moderator: Jamie Simmons, Michigan Climate Action Network

  • Latia Leonard, EcoWorks

  • Eradajere Oleita, Detroit Organizer, Michigan Environmental Justice Coalition 

  • Joshua Perkins, Black Millennials for Flint

  • Holly Pummell, Michigan State University Student Leader




Breakout Sessions-Round 2

Session A: Tribes and Clean Energy

  • Moderator: Sarah Smith, Michigan Community and Anishinaabe Renewable Energy Sovereignty (MICARES)

  • Kevin Blaser, Saginaw Chippewa Tribe of Indians

  • Jake Glavin, Midwest Tribal Energy Resources Association

  • Dr. Chelsea Schelly, Michigan Technological University / MICARES tribal survey

  • Barry Skutt, Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatami

  • Gary Lewis, Utility Supervisor, Little River Band of Ottawa Indians




Breakout Sessions-Round 2

Session B: Electrifying and Decarbonizing Transportation

  • Moderator, Cory Connolly, Michigan EIBC

  • Ash Narayanan, Executive Director, Our Streets Minneapolis

  • Maggie Stritz Calnin, Director, Healthy Air Program, Southwest Detroit Environmental Vision

  • Tremaine Phillips, Commissioner Michigan Public Service Commission

  • Terry Travis, Managing Partner, EVNoire




Showing 1 reaction


Add your voice to those in
Michigan working for a stable climate

Get updates