Thursday, March 12, 2020

Frank Ettawageshik

Welcome to the Michigan Climate Action Summit • 9:00 - 9:30 AM

Frank Ettawageshik - Executive Director, United Tribes of Michigan and Technical Team of National Congress of American Indians Climate Action Task Force

Introduction - Setting the Stage

Kate MadiganMissy StultsMayor Chris Taylor

Mayor Chris Taylor - City of Ann Arbor

Missy Stults - Sustainability and Innovations Manager, City of Ann Arbor

Kate Madigan - Director, Michigan Climate Action Network

KEYNOTE • 9:35 - 10:00 AM

Exciting speaker to be announced soon!

PLENARY PANEL - Climate Policy and Just Transition • 10:00 - 10:50 AM

Frank HoustonFrank Houston - Moderator
Michigan Coordinator, BlueGreen Alliance

Deitra CovingtonDeitra Covington
River Rouge Community Leader

Jim HarrisonJim Harrison
Senior National Representative, Utility Workers Union of America

More speakers TBA

PLENARY PANEL - Centering Equity in Climate Solutions • 10:50 - 11:40 AM

Justin OnwenuJustin Onwenu - Moderator
Community Organizer, Sierra Club

Theresa LandrumTheresa Landrum
Detroit Community Activist

Stephan EdelStephan Edel
Coordinator, New York Renews Coalition

Megan HessMegan Hess
Upper Peninsula Organizer, We the People Michigan

LUNCH & KEYNOTE • 11:45 AM - 12:45 PM

BREAK • 12:45 - 1:00 PM

BREAKOUT SESSIONS ONE: A. Cities Leading with Action • 1:00 - 1:50 PM

Shanna DraheimShanna Draheim - Moderator
Director of Policy Development, Michigan Municipal League

Missy StultsMissy Stults
Sustainability and Innovations Manager, City of Ann Arbor

Alison SutterAlison Sutter
Sustainability and Performance Management Officer, City of Grand Rapids

Nishaat KilleenNishaat Killeen
Project Manager, Office of Sustainability, City of Detroit

Jenn HillJenn Hill
Mayor Pro Tem, City of Marquette

Mayor Melanie PianaMayor Melanie Piana
City of Ferndale

BREAKOUT SESSIONS ONE: B. Youth Leaders and Climate Solutions • 1:00 - 1:50 PM

Catherine Garton - Moderator
Student Leader, Citizens' Climate Lobby U-M Student Chapter

Naina Agrawal-HardinNaina Agrawal-Hardin
Hub Coordinator for Sunrise Ann Arbor, Communications Manager for US Youth Climate Strike

Latia Leonard
Co-Director, Youth Energy Squad, EcoWorks Detroit

More speakers TBA

BREAK • 1:50 - 2:00 PM

BREAKOUT SESSIONS TWO: A. Lawmakers and Clean Energy Policy • 2:00 - 2:50 PM

Speakers TBA


BREAKOUT SESSIONS TWO: B. Carbon Free Transportation and Buildings • 2:00 - 2:50 PM

Dr. Brandy BrownDr. Brandy Brown - Moderator
Climate and Clean Energy Advisor, Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE)

More speakers TBA

CLOSING REMARKS • 2:50 - 3:00 PM

Naina Agrawal-HardinNaina Agrawal-Hardin - Hub Coordinator, Sunrise Ann Arbor; Communications Manager, US Youth Climate Strike

RECEPTION • 3:00 - 5:00 PM

Kuenzel Room (1st Floor)

*Speakers/Schedule subject to change.

Thanks to our Summit Sponsors for making this event possible
Become a 2020 Michigan Climate Action Summit sponsor today!

Sponsorship Deadline is February 28

Presenting Sponsors

Groundwork Center
The Wege Foundation
Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy
City of Ann Arbor, Michigan
Michigan Environmental Council
Ecology Center

Event Sponsors

Harvest Solar
Fastest Path to Zero at U-M
Michigan League of Conservation Voters
Michigan Energy Options
National Wildlife Federation
University of Michigan School for Environment and Sustainability
Washtenaw County, Michigan
Environmental Law & Policy Center
Porter Family Foundation
Elevate Energy
Michigan Interfaith Power & Light
Southeast Michigan Sustainable Business Forum
Kolkulations LLC
Climate Stick
Citizens' Climate Lobby
The Climate Reality Project: Washtenaw County, MI Chapter
Moms Clean Air Force
North by Nature Landscapes
Peace Education Center
Sue Shink
Western Michigan University Climate Change Working Group
W.K. Kellogg Biological Station at Michigan State University
Kalamazoo Climate Crisis Coalition
Michelle Deatrick
Ban Michigan Fracking
Michigan Clean Energy Conference
Oil & Water Don't Mix
Cherry Republic


Your organization can be on this list.
Become a 2020 Michigan Climate Action Summit Sponsor today!


Add your voice to those in
Michigan working for a stable climate

Get updates